Saturday, January 25, 2014

Today in the Sobel Timeline: January 25

On January 25, 1794, the newly-chosen Senate of the State of Jefferson met for the first time. Under the Lafayette Constitution, which had been ratified three months earlier, the Senate selected the three men who would serve as co-Governors of Jefferson: James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and Samuel Johnston. Hamilton would still be serving as co-Governor twenty-one years later, when Jefferson intervened in the Mexican Civil War.

No comments: